February 2011

Recent Updates

Structure Deck 27 - Hero's...
shriek - 2014/04/17 20:42
Jump Victory Carnival 2014...
「ジャンプビクトリーカーニバル2014」 Jump. ..
Manjyome Thunder - 2014/04/17 15:47
V Jump Edition 11
V Jump Edition 11 Price: Yen (incl. tax) + Subscription...
Manjyome Thunder - 2014/04/17 15:46


Online for 3133 days
Last update: 2014/04/17 22:07


Get Firefox!

Users Status

You are not logged in.

New System - The Exceed Summon

An Exceed Monster - No. 17, Revise Dragon

With the dawn of the Yu-Gi-Oh! ZEXAL era comes a new type of monster - the Exceed Monster. What follows is a primer on what they are, how they are summoned, and how they are treated. Hopefully this will ensure that you will all be ready to tackle them once they take the world by storm (or not, as the case may be).

Exceed Monsters
  • An Exceed Monster is a new type of Monster Card that is coloured black. They are stored in the Extra Deck along with Fusion Monsters and Synchro Monsters.
  • Instead of a Level, Exceed Monsters have a Rank. This Rank determines the required Levels of the Exceed Material Monsters needed in order to summon your desired Exceed Monster. An Exceed Monster's Rank is depicted by a row of yellow stars in black orbs (as opposed to the yellow stars in red orbs of a monster's Level) that extend outwards from the left-hand side of the card (opposite to where a monster's Level would be depicted).
  • An Exceed Monster's Rank is not its Level. Exceed Monsters do not have a Level. Therefore, any effects that would refer to the Level of a monster cannot be applied to an Exceed Monster under any circumstances.
Exceed Summoning
  • In order to Exceed Summon an Exceed Monster, you must first take the required Exceed Material Monsters face-up on your side of the field and stack them together. Then, the Exceed Monster is Exceed Summoned from your Extra Deck, and placed on top of the stack.
  • The respective battle positions of the Exceed Material Monsters do not matter, so long as they are all face-up. However, once you have Exceed Summoned your Exceed Monster, ensure that the entire stack is neatly aligned according to the Exceed Monster's battle position.
  • An Exceed Summon is a type of Special Summon, and an Exceed Monster cannot be Special Summoned from the Graveyard or removed from play pile unless it was properly Exceed Summoned first.
  • Some effects may require you to remove Exceed Material Monsters from an Exceed Monster. In this case, the required Exceed Material Monsters are taken from beneath the Exceed Monster in question and sent to the Graveyard. Be wary though, as some such effects may have a sting in the tail should an Exceed Monster have no Exceed Material Monsters left beneath it.
  • An Exceed Material Monster being removed from an Exceed Monster in such a manner does not officially count as that monster being sent to the Graveyard. Therefore, an effect such as that of Sangan will not trigger.
  • Note that an Exceed Monster Special Summoned via any means other than an Exceed Summon will thus not have any Exceed Material Monsters beneath it. Therefore, any negative effects that might apply to an Exceed Monster in such a state will be applied immediately.
  • It is currently unknown as to what happens to any Exceed Material Monsters beneath an Exceed Monster that is flipped face-down or removed from the field in some manner. For the time being I believe it can be safely assumed that they are all simply removed in the same manner as they would be for the sake of an effect (in other words, sent to the Graveyard, but not officially). Basically, think of an Exceed Monster's Exceed Material Monsters like counters.
  • It is also currently unknown as to whether or not tokens can be used as Exceed Material Monsters. Until an official word is made, it is advised that you come to an agreement regarding this matter with your opponent in advance.
If you feel that I have missed anything important, please do note suchly in the comments and I shall amend this list accordingly. However, I'm pretty confident that the above should cover most bases.

Any unresolved issues above will be updated as soon as official word is known.
wachiwa (guest) - 2011/02/19 20:10

if the Exceed Monster is destroyed or removed from play what happens with the exceed materials?? are they sent to the graveyard??

danierulynx - 2011/02/19 20:13

You made that comment just as it occurred to me that I had forgotten to address that, XD

The list has been amended accordingly.
guest (guest) - 2011/02/19 20:24

What happens if an Exceed monster is flipped face down? Where do the Exceed Materials go?

danierulynx - 2011/02/19 20:39

I'm afraid I have no answer for you on that one at the moment.
redeyesfanboy (guest) - 2011/05/14 02:03

thigs to know of exceeds

if an exceed is fliped via book of moon the matereals stay if an exceed is removed the matereals are sent to the grave
J4B0i - 2011/02/19 20:29

It's funny how you updated this at 20:11 / 2011. :P

Questions (guest) - 2011/02/19 20:36

Exceed Monsters vs Gravity Bind/LLAB are my biggest question. Since level effects dont apply, does that mean the Exceed Monster CAN attack under LLAB/G-Bind?

And what about United We Stand vs Exceed Material Monsters? Do the Materials count as monsters while they are on the field still?

I know none of these questions can be answered atm, but hopefully in due time...

danierulynx - 2011/02/19 20:42

Unless Konami decide to specifically state otherwise, Exceed Monsters are unaffected by Gravity Bind and Level Limit - Area B.

Exceed Material Monsters beneath an Exceed Monster do not count as monsters for the sake of effects such as United We Stand. They are essentially nothing more than fancy Spell Counters.
TKing6488 - 2011/02/21 07:27

•An Exceed Monster's Rank is NOT its Level. Exceed Monsters do not have a Level. Therefore, any effects that would refer to the Level of a monster cannot be applied to an Exceed Monster under ANY circumstances.

As for United We Stand it's treated as one monster.
naviassassin (guest) - 2011/02/19 21:31

Questions on Exceed Monsters

I guess the following are some of the Common Questions that will be asked regarding the Exceed Monsters would be:

Q1: If we negate its Summon (e.g. Solemn Judgement, Solemn Warning, Royal Oppression, etc), what will happen to the Exceed Material Monsters below it.

Q2: If we destroy it while it is Summon (e.g. Bottomless Trap Hole, Torrential Tribute, etc), what will happen to the Exceed Material Monsters below it.

Q3: If we use cards such as Compulsory Evacuation Device and target an Exceed Monster, what will happen to the Exceed Material Monsters below it.

Q4: If we use cards such as Book of Moon, Book of Eclipse, etc and target an Exceed Monster, what will happent o the Exceed Material Monsters below it.

Scroll_Lock (guest) - 2011/02/19 22:12


I think those Exceed Material Monsters will be sent to graveyard when the Exceed Monster is removed from play or flipped face down.
But it would be really nice if they could be removed from play... just think about the possibilities...
danierulynx - 2011/02/19 23:13

They are indeed the main questions that need answering.

Personally, I think that an Exceed Monster's Exceed Material Monsters will be treated like counters, and so any gameplay mechanic that would remove all of the counters from a card (ie. it being flipped face-down or removed from the field) will likewise remove all of the Exceed Material Monsters from an Exceed Monster.

Rest assured though that I will update the above list with the answer to this issue as soon as it becomes known.
shadecutter (guest) - 2011/02/20 04:58

synchroing exceeds

can exceeds be used to synchro with a tuner?

danierulynx - 2011/02/20 06:54

What he said.
naviassassin (guest) - 2011/02/20 16:24

Rank is not Level hence you cannot use an Exceed Monster as a Synchro Material
TKing6488 - 2011/02/20 20:18


For now I think it would be safe to assume that you cannot because Ranks aren't levels. Unless if they make a synchro monster that would require a rank of exceed monster(s). I think that would be interesting.

For Example
BS Level 3 synchro monster
1 Level 3 Tuner + 1 Rank 4 Exceed Type monster
timothy (guest) - 2011/02/25 17:47

you could

if you did something like this


1 Junk Synchro +1 Cyberdragon + 1 random exceed monster

its just that since it has no would more then likely count as zero....
Fob4eva - 2011/02/27 10:32

Double Tuners?

Would two tuners be able to use for exceed summoning? If so, Vayu's are not useless in the hand anymore.
Black Rafar (guest) - 2011/02/20 20:59

Exceed Materials

I know Exceed Materials don't count as "sent to the graveyard" when they're used for an effect. My two questions are:

* Do they count as sent to the graveyard when the Exceed Monster goes to the graveyard alongside them?
* Does sending the Exceed Materials to the graveyard (by the Exceed Monster effect) count as "removing" those material from the field? (example: Fortune Lady Light)

Thank you

Derek (guest) - 2011/02/21 04:21

If the monster is not officially sent to the grave, does Dandylion not get tokens either??? since it doesnt have to be sent from the field as sangan does.

TKing6488 - 2011/02/21 07:30

I'm wondering the same thing but I've never heard non-officially being sent to the Graveyard before. I think even Dandylion will miss the timing, although Japan has a different approach to defining the rules. We'll find out in time I guess
Fob4eva - 2011/03/01 06:10

From Above

From what the OCG has stated so far, Sangan and Dandylion seems to both miss their timing (even though it's really realistically impossible to miss their timing)
ojamalu (guest) - 2011/02/21 06:08

Removing an Exceed Material Monster

What happen to the Exceed Material Monsters if Macro Cosmo(and similiar cards) is on the field?

Pokemonking3000 (guest) - 2011/02/21 06:36

I think it would be removed in the same way. (Not "officaly" being removed from play)
TKing6488 - 2011/02/21 07:24


Can you use tokens for an Exceed monster?

Fob4eva - 2011/02/27 10:23

shriek already said up there that the use of tokens for exceed summoning is still unconfirmed. If so, I'll be running Scapegoat again for the heck of it. Rank 1 monster is still better than nothing and a free summon.
GGMariner (guest) - 2011/02/21 15:55

So would Ex Materials count as leaving the field at all? (ex Ab Zero?)

vastar (guest) - 2011/02/21 17:20

i have a question

i have a question. When says "take the required exced material monsters" this means ANY monsters with the level required or there will be exced materials like tuners?

Thanks for your answer

Vanguard (guest) - 2011/02/21 19:26

This is just confusing. Why did they have to introduce this in Yu-Gi-Oh! of all card Games.

Prefer the way this works in Cardfight!

HalfDemonInuyasha - 2011/02/21 19:29


Let's just wait for the rest of the rulings to be made known.

This is only initial stuff shown in V-Jump.

We will get everything soon enough. Just be patient.

Nova (guest) - 2011/02/21 23:51

This is what I'm wondering, do the Overlay Unit monsters count towards your 5 monster limit?

HalfDemonInuyasha - 2011/02/22 03:43


Most likely not.
DarkDragonphoenix (guest) - 2011/02/22 21:12

Fucking gayest shit eva...sorry but seriousely...this just wrecks up the whole YGO System...did Synchro monsters need so much updates???

this is just...URGHHH...and a "level" 3 cover!

well it was a good point to quit before this banlist...not that I dislike the banlist but still..

Chaotic Anonymous (guest) - 2011/02/23 04:25


Just fuckin quit then :V

Something new that does not make us boring should be waited.
Fob4eva - 2011/02/27 10:49


I said that to begin with when i learned Synchro Summoning. Get use to it, Next thing i know in the year 2020 they might have a new summon which we have to dance in order to play the card.
wereborg (guest) - 2011/02/23 01:42

overlay system is good, but rank system broke the basic of YGO

yugi123445 (guest) - 2011/02/24 05:13


Exceeds, well the minimal amount of information of it we have now, is honestly a big waste. They dont follow most of the rules, and are uneffected by powerful cards from the past, just by *existing*...

SynjoDeonecros (guest) - 2011/02/24 19:33

Yes and no, if you're talking about the fact that they have no level, technically; on the one hand, they ARE unaffected by cards that affect level, like Gravity Bind, but on the other hand, they can't be used for stuff like Synchros or Rituals, meaning Exceed/Synchro or Exceed/Demise decks aren't feasible. Summoning them is still considered a Special Summon, so you can negate that, and they're still affected by card effects that affect ATK/DEF/Type/Attribute/Effect.
HalfDemonInuyasha - 2011/02/24 21:30


Yeah, the only rules they don't follow are anything that pertain to Levels...that's it.

Everything else is still fair game barring rules/effects that say otherwise.
Wolfgang DelaSangre - 2011/02/25 19:47

What Exceeds lack in decent effects...

...they make up for in laughing at summon negation. A video surfaced showing bits of an exhibition duel between a pirate and a Crowler cosplayer. Crowler attempted to Exceed Summon No. 39 Redundant Name with E-HERO Neos Alius and Ancient Gear Knight. Pirate negates the Exceed Summon with Solemn Judgment while he's at 7300, dropping him to 3650.

The Exceed Material Monsters remained on the field and the Crowler cosplayer swung for 3700 total (1900+1800). Pirate lost to a creepy cosplayer, and it was his own fault.

UK (guest) - 2011/02/26 13:04

nobody can be sure what happens to the overlay units if the summon gets negated. Personally I think they'd be sent to the grave either way, because you have to first "overlay" them before you make the summon. So in the end, this whole facade might as well have been a complete missplay.
Fob4eva - 2011/02/27 10:24

Goyo Guardian

I don't think its that broken. Hit and Steal, Main phase 2 Exceed Summon.

blood (guest) - 2011/02/27 17:29

exceed material

Well I'm not sure but I heard that when exceed monsters have to be destroyed or something happens that would remove exceed material cards, thos cards get removed from play. Which to me makes a lot more sense then going to the graveyard
mcjazzman32 (guest) - 2011/03/01 02:04


Yeah the tokens are the biggest for me. Tanngrisnir would be awesome if the tokens could pull out rank three exceed monsters. And if those tokens stayed as material, even more awesome. The rules on tokens mean everything.

Fob4eva - 2011/03/01 05:54


Rank 1 is just a free summon with scapegoat.
HalfDemonInuyasha - 2011/03/02 00:25


Assuming they even MAKE a Rank 1 Exceed. If they do, I would not expect it to be that great considering how stupidly easy it'd be to get out. Most likely be used for something else ala Formula Synchron for Accel Synchros or even just another Synchro in general.
My1 (guest) - 2011/06/30 00:42

R1 Execed

They HAVE already made some R1 Exceed monsters
e.g. "Baby Tragon" or "Twin-Tail Cat Lady"
or "No. 83 Galaxy Queen"
little Tip wathch Zexal and you may see more...
Guy (guest) - 2011/03/01 08:12

Regarding Secret Barrel

Do the Exceed Material Monsters count towards the amount of cards under one's control for the purposes of cards like Secret Barrel?

QuickStrike87 (guest) - 2011/03/11 01:06

Bring it on

Exceed summoning is not going to change anything for me since none of the cards in my deck depend on level anyways. So far I haven't seen any exceed monsters with effects which I could use in my deck. Honestly, I use a lot of synchros, so I'd rather use my materials for that. I also use 3 skill drain, so another reason why exceed will most likely not help me. We'll see though, I welcome the challenge and the change to the game. I got no complaints.
QuickStrike87 (guest) - 2011/03/11 15:42

I think the most useful thing about exceed summoning will be if you can take the opponent's monsters and then use them as exceed materials as an alternative to synchro summoning. For example, sometimes you have a mind control in hand, but taking the opponent's monster will not help you fusion or synchro, so now you have a 3rd option - exceed summoning. I'm just waiting for rank 8 exceed monsters to come out because most likely, it's going to be those that people will summon. Especially for me, I summon many lv8 synchros.

Lord Gnometoucher (guest) - 2011/03/22 05:48

Revival Excess

Can anyone think of some good Instant Exceeds? Debris Dragon's an obvious one; Normal Summon, Special...something or other, Exceed. Or Batterymen! Hey, there's an idea. Their lack of Tuners won't be a problem anymore!
My1 (guest) - 2011/06/30 00:44

R8 Exceed

There came one R8 out "Thunder End Dragon" ...
DOX (guest) - 2011/04/06 14:24

wow! konami must be running out of ideas XD

first it was just MTG's Ponder = Pot of Duality YGO
Now it's MTG's Championing system = Exceed Summoning YGO

redeyesfanboy (guest) - 2011/05/14 02:10

a good idea

gadgets they are a instant exceed ultamit offering +put gravity bind/level limit area B helps make it happen cause i proxy exceeds and the deck i made for them is just as good as my blackwing deck
BrandonAF1 (guest) - 2011/05/25 18:34

Exceed Material Monsters

Can the exceed material monsters be targeted by ANY card effects?!?

My1 (guest) - 2011/06/30 00:46

By their own one... (detach)
paulo (guest) - 2011/06/12 09:37


if i use monster reborn for an exceed monster and spacial summon it on the field, what would happen in its exceed material monster? does it came back from grave from being an exceed material or the exceed monster wouldn't have exceed material?

My1 (guest) - 2011/06/30 00:48

It wont have any Ex-Mat. so if theres a neg-effect which triggers If theres no Ex.Mat. It gets triigered instantly (e.g. No.17 Revise Dragon cant attack directly)
pollyisanoob (guest) - 2011/06/29 13:18

would exceed tuners be possible, eg. level 5 monster + exceed tuner = level 5 synchro?

My1 (guest) - 2011/06/30 00:50

Maybe Ex. Monsters Have NO Level-> Meaning that they event have Level Zero...
but If the sync Monster says L5 Monster + Ex.Monster then its OK...
John8522 (guest) - 2011/07/05 00:52

Something interesting

I can't believe no one has asked this. What if you use a Chain Dog or Plaguespreader Zombie, which have been special summoned by their own effects, as materials do they go to the grave or still get removed from play. They technically didn't leave the field. I find this interesting as chain dog could be fun in a beast deck.

jc (guest) - 2012/05/22 22:38

What if?

What if i were to xyz summon, say, utopia, and make it level 4 via card effect like harmonic waves, would i be able to use it for another xyz summon? and if so, would utopias materials be sent to the graveyard, or will they be considered overlay units for the second xyz monster?

Release Dates

04/04/2014: Perfect Rule Book
04/19/2014: The Duelist Advent (901)
04/19/2014: Deck Custom Pack 01
04/21/2014: V-Jump 06/2014
05/02/2014: Numbers Guide 3
05/17/2014: Duelists of Legend Edition
06/21/2014: SD27 - Hero's Strike




myCards - TCG-Database

Yugioh OCG News




Banned Lists
Book Promos
Collector's Tin
Duelist Packs
New Sets
Special Packs
Starter Decks
Structure Decks
Weekly Jump
Subscribe Weblog